4:30 a.m.

I used to be a night owl. Like every night hit the sheets and watch hours worth of Friends reruns before finally bidding Chandler Bing goodnight around midnight type of night owl.
Then, I met my fiance.
He is a morning person, who can definitely be found in the bed by 9 p.m. And if you happen to find him still on the couch attempting to muster enough eyelid strength to watch our shows with me past 9:01 p.m., he’s probably failing more minutes than not.
Once I moved in I quickly found myself on his schedule. Now, I catch myself wondering if 8:30 p.m. is too early to crawl into bed. What has happened to me?! I’ll still watch TV in bed, but usually it’s lights out for me no later than 10 p.m. I hope someone is still out there watching those late night Friends episodes.

After much thought, wishful thinking and trial and error, we’ve decided that since we go to bed early, morning workouts should be totally doable – more so than dragging ourselves to the gym after work. 
Despite staying out far too late both Friday and Saturday nights, therefore throwing us off our sleep regimen, we were still determined to start the workout routine this week.
Cut to this morning when the alarm went off before dawn….way before dawn.
Fiance popped outta bed darn near completely perky. I hung out in between the dream state and the covers for a few more minutes, then slithered out of bed like a slug.
We made it to the gym by 4:55ish. And honestly, it wasn’t terrible. Headphones and bright lights have a way of waking a person up, I suppose.
We aren’t gym rats. We’re planning to be, but right now our gym access thingamachig is really more of an extra key chain. Today’s accomplishment proved to be our initial baby steps into a healthier lifestyle, and for me into my wedding dress.

We could call today Day 1. Do you know how many Day 1’s I’ve had? TONS! This time I told the fiance, ‘Ya know if we’re not going to commit to this, then we shouldn’t even start.’ There’s way more optimism behind that last statement than it reads. Frankly, I’m tired of having Day 1’s.
35 minutes later and we were out. Not long. But it counts. Day 1 is complete.
I didn’t even go back to bed. I made a nice, big breakfast, because that always makes Mondays better, and actually had time to enjoy my coffee before work.

Skip to now. It’s 7 p.m., and we just finished a healthy dinner that he cooked, because I asked oh so nicely and so I could…NAP. Again, who am I? I don’t nap, especially when bedtime is just hours away.
(SN: I am so thankful to have a man who will cook dinner when I am not creative, able, willing or just plain exhausted.)
After a day of sitting at my desk fighting sleep, and struggling to keep my eyelids up on the drive home, I knew that defrosting chicken was as much as I could do for dinner.

Seriously, 4:30 a.m. is for the birds. Quite literally.
The fiance, God bless him (!), already has the alarm set for 4:30 tomorrow. It’s TBD if I’ll be his companion. I’m beginning to wonder if there is some odd payback wrapped up into this whole morning workout plan as punishment to me for trying to keep him awake past his bedtime all these months.  😉

Tagged

Leave a comment