Saturday Love

What is your favorite day of the week?
Monday, right? Haha.
Ooowwwee I hate a Monday. But even more, I kinda have a love-hate relationship with Sunday. It’s just a day’s worth of time to countdown to Monday. I’m trying to stop disliking Sundays, though. It has as much to offer as Saturday does, right?
Anyway…
I’m sure you can already assume my answer from the title – that my favorite day is Saturday.
It’s like a nice cozy blanket that safeguards you from Monday.

But here’s the dilemma. What do you do with a Saturday?
If you’re still reading, no this post isn’t just about my love affair with Saturdays.
It’s my rambling and wondering how people navigate through their weekends.
Rachel Wilkerson talked about this here, and she made many light bulbs go off for me.
She talks about having so many goals for the weekend, then somehow Sunday/Monday shows up with its stupid face and nothing has been accomplishment.
Her words SPOKE to me.

Last week, I seriously caught myself making a list at work of tasks that would equate to a productive weekend for me and Fishface (that’s the fiance…nickname explanation to come in a later post). But, as I was writing all these weekend dreams down, it hit me that I was full of crap. I knew Friday wouldn’t entail cleaning and working out. Fridays have notoriously been reserved for cheese and carbs. I had a bit more hope for Saturday’s list, but the overwhelming feeling of “Yeah, right” just washed over every ounce of hope.
I say all that to highlight the mental battle that begins on Friday mornings, or even Thursday evenings – will we be productive this weekend or play and be lazy?
Both should be easily doable within two days, but I find it’s often not.
So tell me about your weekends.
How do you manage to squeeze in cleaning, laundry, yardwork, cooking, shopping, preparing for next week, breathing, moviewatching, Starbucks drinking…etc?

Leave a Reply

