DOing the HairDO

As far as I can remember, going to the salon and getting pretty is by far one of my favorite things.
A new hair cut or color literally lifts weight off my shoulders and makes me feel like a new person.
It’s one of the most invigorating and energizing things in the world.
So why did it take me FOUR months to get back to my gal Kasey and get this mane tamed?
Ooohhwee y’all, it was a mad mess.

Before

Before

It took about a year to get my hair this length. I cut it “short” after the wedding, about a year ago. “Short” in my mind is different from most people’s definition. Ha.
That hair is pretty terrible, and it’s been a long time since it’s looked that sad. The weight of it all made the layers flat and lifeless. I fight for volume as it is, but this look made it impossible. I’ve been throwing it in a bun for weeks to feel even slightly human.
When I text (I don’t consider texted a word) Kasey for an appointment, we discussed a trim and a touch up of the highlights. Oh did I mention my highlights were so grown out? And not grown out all cool ombré- like either. Straight up mess.
Throughout the days before my appointment, I kind of had a feeling I’d be losing a great deal of length though as I kept pinning shorter looks and playing in the mirror with my shortest layers. I talked myself in and out of just chopping it.
Then this happened.

The Tale of Two Pigtails

The Tale of Two Pigtails

FIVE INCHES, Y’ALL!!
I walked in, showed Kasey my Pinterest and she knew my heart’s desire.
She touched up the highlights and made my feel pretty again. I’m pretty stoked about my new ‘do.

After

After

Truthfully, as my sister will gladly tell you and me and anyone who will listen, I look better with shorter hair.
I love the idea of long hair. But my texture and non-volume self isn’t right for it. If I got up everyday and hot rolled it or something, maybe long hair would do. Am I the only one who still wants long hair and a perm? 😉
So, it’s “uber short” now.

Heeeey

Heeeey

Fishface loves short hair on me. I even got all dolled up for dinner last night and he took me out to show me off. Sweet fella. Good thing, too, because the hair won’t look this good after I wash it. Seriously, can I get a full-time stylist?
Now, I’m on the hunt for a new blow-dryer, curling iron and styling products. For once in a long time, I have the desire to actually get up earlier to make my hair look decent. Here’s hoping for some volume in my life.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “DOing the HairDO

  1. It looks great! I love it!

  2. mrsmount says:

    Wanna know how long it’s been since I got my hair cut? 10 months. Not WEEKS, months! I am going next Friday, though, and I can’t wait!

    Your new ‘do looks super cute! Your idea of “short” cracks me up, however. 🙂

  3. bunsontherun says:

    Thanks Echo and Erin!
    I need pics of your new ‘do Erin!

Leave a Reply

