Scenes from Memorial Day Weekend

From Friday night to Monday night, I don’t think Fishface and I slowed down a bit.
Memorial Day weekend was jammed packed and so fabulous that we didn’t even turn the TV on.

Let’s recap:
Friday “yard sale prep night” turned into “visit with two sets of neighbors night” and then have “a great number of Blue Moons at best friend neighbor’s house night.” Feared that would make for hangover Saturday, but we came out on top.
Though 5:30 Saturday morning came soon and then it was Mission Yard Sale til noon. Fishface fetched Gibson Donuts for us and the neighbors, so we were all hyped up on sugary goodness. Once the crowds thinned, we all packed up the cars full of Goodwill and library book donations and then treated ourselves to beer and wings for a job well done. Can we say mega cheat day – no exercise and no nutrients. My body was confused.
After a nap, Fishface and I got wild and crazy and decided to hit Lowe’s. (Incoming deep thought: because when God tells you to quite literally build and grow a garden with your husband, you do it. More on that later.)
With no plan, we ventured into the store near dark and picked out a variety of pretties and a dozen bags of mulch.

Basket of Nature

Basket of Nature

Strength training

Strength training

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A few things of Petunias, Angelina and a rare weirdo Celosia later and we called it a night with promise to begin our next day just as early as we did that morning.
Sunday from 6 to noon we raked out weeds, old mulch, old tarp and finished one part of our garden. We tabled the bigger portion for Monday (because who doesn’t want to spend their off day overhauling a garden), so we could hit the pool with the neighbors. We tried to convince our sweet neighbors to grab a shovel and gloves to help us in this renovation, but only their four-year-old took the bait. 😉
The pool – let’s talk about the pool. I LOVE SUMMER! (yes, I know summer comes in June, but to me if it’s hot then it’s summer). I love everything about it. I was lucky enough to always have some form of pool in my life since I was a kiddo, and I relished every day I could in the backyard. I love the smell of suntan lotion (though I don’t use it), I love the sun as it moves across the water throughout the day, I love listening to my tunes as I float around all day. I just love it all. This was my sole purpose for getting our Y membership – the pool. If it’s sunny, I’ll be there.
So, yeah we took a much-needed, long-awaited pool break.

Heaven

Heaven

After pool and dinner time, it was back to the neighbors for game night. I’m kinda wondering why we don’t just all live together at this point. Ha. And we are seriously addicted to Catan. Might need an intervention.

Catan Denomination (yes that's incorrect on purpose)

Catan Denomination (yes that’s the incorrect word on purpose, because yes I really said that. Ha.)

Project Awesome Garden meant yet another early morning Monday. New tarp was laid, holes were cut, holes were dug, plants were planted, mulch was spread.

Aren't I adorable?

Aren’t I adorable?

Prep

Garden work

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We finished it up just in time to hit the grocery for our dinner cookout with…guess who…the neighbors…lol. We were lucky enough to have a serviceman guest of honor for our Memorial Day cookout. Neighbor John’s Pops, aka Grumpsy, attended our shindig and it was such a joy to chat with him over dinner. A true gentleman!

Neighbor and Grumpsy

Neighbor and Grumpsy

Before that though, since it was gorgeous Monday, I knew where I had to be that afternoon. Back to the pool. I had not one care that we needed to clean or do laundry before hosting people in our home. Pool takes priority every.single.time.

Pool selfie

Pool selfie

Pool was again much-needed after our labor in the garden. Y’all! Gardening is hard work. We were so sore from Sunday, that we regretted not finishing it all that morning, because bending down was near impossible Monday. I’m still not right from it all. Forget the gym – gardening is where it’s at (two turntables).
And finally, after our yummy cookout (neighbor Heather makes the best burgers ever in the world, ever known in the history of mankind!) we wrapped up the weekend with an X-Men viewing.
Now, a little background on me and action movies. I whine every time I feel I’m going to be dragged to one. I selflessly took Fishface to see Thor on his birthday, because there was nothing in it for me. (Lies: Thor is HOT!).  So, when the gang wanted to venture off to X-Men I had a few thoughts: 1. It’s a school night aka work night… I still consider them school nights. 2. I should stay home and write my article for the paper 3. I don’t hate X-Men, but hmm…I really wanna see a Rom-Com. (I always want to see a Rom-Com.)
Procrastination and my better judgement won. I went and not to any surprise I loved it. I must remember I really do love action movies. It’s just getting me there that’s the hard part, then I enjoy every minute of it. Great movie. Go see it.
If you’re still reading, which I hope you are, I’ll leave you with a collage (learned how to do that one – finally. Learning. Winning.) of our garden before and after.

Before & After

Before & After

Oh and one ADORABLE pic of Koda supervising our work. He’s sitting on a bench in front of the window, letting us know he is fully capable of tearing down the house if he should so choose. This dog makes my heart beat.

Dog in charge

Dog in charge

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Scenes from Memorial Day Weekend

  1. Bella says:

    Yes! You are adorable! And I love the impromptu nurture fest. Carry on my love.

Leave a Reply

