“A little 5k never hurt anyone”

Y’all, I have a serious hard time going to the gym when I get home from work.
Can I get an Amen?!
Nevermind that an hour in the gym delays the whole preparing, cooking and eating dinner thing.
That’s reason enough.
But during my favorite season (which has been unseasonably cool and gorgeous here in the usually sweltering Mid-South) I prefer to sit on the patio, enjoy all hours before sunset and maybe take a walk outside. Because I know winter will be coming along way too soon, and I’ll be forced indoors.
I’m not even ashamed to admit that about a month ago I stopped my gym/treadie workout 12 minutes in to go chase a gorgeous sunset. Worth it!

So, due to my love for the outdoors and my taking it easy after the wisdom extraction, June 27 was the last time I hung out in the gym.
Shame.
But last night, we turned the boat around, which was miraculous given at 6:01 p.m. I was eating Ruffles. By 6:03, I somehow motivated myself to put the chips away and find socks.
The struggle is real.

But the treadie and I got along pretty alright.
Somehow, even with three weeks off, I still managed a nice, quiet 5k.
It wasn’t fast, but it was sweaty and delicious. I think I even learned how fantastic intervals can be, because they make the clock wind down quick.
Success.

Then, we came home and inhaled all things  processed, because cutting things up and grilling them just couldn’t happen.
I’ll really be winning when I figure out how to make a real meal AND workout all in one evening.
Baby steps.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““A little 5k never hurt anyone”

  1. mrsmount says:

    Good for you! I guess working out in the morning is out of the question?

  2. bunsontherun says:

    Thanks Erin! Yeah, it’s definitely a possibility, and certainly a goal. The bed is just so comfy, sometimes. I’ve been promising myself all summer to get up and walk at dawn to enjoy more nature before work. So far, not so much. 😉

Leave a Reply

