Personalized 4: Circuits

Ever watch The Biggest Loser and see contestants puking in buckets?
Yep, I’d be that girl.
Last Wednesday’s KILLER workout didn’t actually make me vomit, but I sure was scanning the room for the nearest trash can. There were moments when I was sure it was going to happen.
But like a boss, I swallowed the puke feeling away and kicked some serious butt.
Nikki really turned the heat up with this hour. I hadn’t been sore since our first workout, but my abs and shoulder blades were all on fire the next day.
Here’s what she devised for us:

Week 4

Week 4

Yeah, that picture does no justice. I wish someone had taken video of what this torture looked like on us.
It was a hot mess.
We started on the elliptical, which for the record I only love when I am unable to do the Treadie. I greatly dislike it.
When Nikki showed us each move we’d do during the circuit portion, I had a thought about each station. Then, when she said do it “5 times” I already wanted to leave. ;0)

In my head:
Ball bounce: yeah, right into my face
Front kicks: got this all day. I do those in my sleep
Cross punches/side lunges: hmm, ok, I can probably do that
Bicycle crunches: UHHHHH NO!!!! I hate you, bicycles!
Rest: YES!!
Repeat: NO!

How it played out:
Ball bounce: took me four circuits to bounce the ball hard enough and gain confidence I wouldn’t bounce the ball into my head
Front kicks: (the irony) one of the hardest stations. Standing there and kicking with the same leg for 30 seconds, five times is hard on the abs. Trust! This station=nausea.
Cross punches: Well, hello shoulder blades. It’s been a minute since I’ve noticed you. Five pound weights never felt so heavy. Still, a doable station until round 5. Round 5 was my limit.
Side lunges: I’d really rather not look in the mirror when I do these. Yikes.
Bicycles: This station was 30 seconds and I praise Jesus it took us 10 of those seconds to get down on the mat into form. LOL. 20 seconds of these bad boys and I wanted to die. Bicycles mean vomit! They hurt the abs SO good.
Rest: We had one minute to stay on the floor and cry or hurry and get water. Our choice. Fastest minute ever.
Repeat: Circuit 1 through 3 was all about keeping my vomit down. Didn’t think I would make it through 4. Seriously. When I finished 4, I rejoiced like it was the last one. I told Nikki I can do anything one last time. Knowing 5 was the last time, I was pumped!
Bottom line: HOLY CIRCUIT TRAINING!

I love Nikki for allowing us to sub out flutter kicks for the bicycles during the last two circuits. I’ll do a flutter whatter all day, before I ever do a bicycle again.

Oh and before all this torturous goodness, we had our weigh-in.
The Fish lost another two pounds. He is rocking this -ish all day long. I’m very proud of him!
And I posted a 0.6 loss. I was excited, since there’s been none of that.
I’ll take a loss, no matter how small, to the moon!

Hopefully this week will be good to us, too. I’m already praying for no bicycles.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Personalized 4: Circuits

  1. mrsmount says:

    Girl, you are my HERO. I hate any kind of strength training.

Leave a Reply

